Berberine vs. dihydroberberine, plainly
A more bioavailable, reduced form of the alkaloid berberine, studied primarily for blood-sugar and metabolic support. It converts to berberine in the body and produces measurably higher blood berberine levels than an equivalent dose of standard berberine HCl.
People interested in metabolic/blood-sugar support who want a lower pill burden than standard berberine, which is typically dosed three times a day at 500mg. No trial has tested dihydroberberine specifically in a menopausal or perimenopausal population, and no trial has yet shown a clinical glucose or insulin benefit for dihydroberberine at all -- the absorption advantage is established, the downstream clinical benefit is not yet.
One thing dihydroberberine and standard berberine are both not: a GLP-1 medication. Neither compound is semaglutide, tirzepatide, or any other prescription GLP-1 receptor agonist, no matter how a product markets itself. If you're actually comparing a GLP-1 prescription, see our full GLP-1 program comparison instead.
Dihydroberberine can interact with several prescription medication classes. See interactions and cautions below before you buy, and talk with your clinician if you take a prescription for diabetes, blood pressure, or an organ-transplant anti-rejection drug.
How we ranked these. We rank these on dosing convenience and dose disclosure, not on price or total daily dose: whether the product is confirmed by its own label to be taken once a day is the primary sort (a product whose dosing frequency isn't stated ranks below a confirmed once-daily product but above a confirmed multiple-times-daily one, since "not stated" is not the same as "confirmed inconvenient"). Where that ties, the highest confirmed milligram dose per serving breaks the tie. Price per serving is shown on every row as context, never as the sort key, and is the final tiebreaker only among products that are otherwise equal. This is a narrower, different axis than our creatine page's testing-first ranking, and we say so plainly: it rewards once-daily convenience and dose disclosure, not lowest cost or highest total daily dose. Those are real and different questions, and this page answers the first one, not the second.
What this axis does not decide. Double Wood Supplements's three-times-a-day regimen delivers 300mg of dihydroberberine per day, and NutraBio's twice-daily regimen delivers 400mg per day, the highest daily total in this set, both more than Midi Health Berberine+'s single 250mg morning serving, even though Midi's per-serving number is the highest of the three. All of these facts are true at once: Midi discloses the highest per-serving dose and is the only product here confirmed once-a-day; NutraBio and Double Wood deliver more total dihydroberberine across their day, and NutraBio also links published independent lab results for its testing claim. This page ranks on once-daily convenience and per-serving disclosure, not daily totals, and states all of it so no single number reads as the whole story. Midi is also the most expensive product in this set and carries no named third-party certifying body, only a generic "third party tested" claim.
Dihydroberberine (DHB) has never been tested in a menopausal or perimenopausal population specifically, in a supplement category shaped by the same historical underinvestment in women's health that runs across this site: the absorption advantage over standard berberine is established, a downstream clinical glucose or insulin benefit is not yet, and no trial gap here is treated as a verdict against any product below.
Prices across the 6 products we verified run from $19.97 to $54.99 per bottle, $0.38 to $1.83 per serving. Price per serving is shown on every row for context; it is not the sort key.
| Rank | Product | Frequency | Disclosed dose | Price/serving | Third-party testing | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Midi Health Berberine+ dihydroberberine (DHB), extended-release capsule | Once daily | 250mg/serving | $1.83/serving | Third-party tested (no accreditor named) | Check price |
| #2 | Intimate Rose Dihydroberberine Supplement dihydroberberine (DHB), capsule | Not stated | 200mg/serving | Not stated | Third-party tested (no accreditor named) | View at Intimate Rose |
| #3 | SNS (Serious Nutrition Solutions) GlucoVantage XT dihydroberberine (DHB) + cinnamon bark extract + Bioperine, capsule | Not stated | 100mg/serving | Not stated | Not stated | View at SNS (Serious Nutrition Solutions) |
| #4 | Nutricost Dihydroberberine Capsules dihydroberberine (DHB), capsule | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Third-party tested (no accreditor named) | View at Nutricost |
| #5 | NutraBio Berberine Advanced (200 mg dihydroberberine / GlucoVantage) dihydroberberine (DHB), capsule | Multiple times daily | 200mg/serving | $0.88/serving | Third-party tested (no accreditor named) | View at Amazon |
| #6 | Double Wood Supplements Dihydroberberine dihydroberberine (DHB), capsule | Multiple times daily | 100mg/serving | $0.38/serving | Third-party tested (no accreditor named) | View at Double Wood Supplements |
The picks in detail
#1. Midi Health Berberine+
Its own label copy states: "Take 2 extended-release capsules each morning." One serving, once a day. Discloses 250mg of dihydroberberine per serving. $1.83 per serving at this product's own stated container size. Testing: Third-party tested (no accreditor named).
Midi is approved on Katalys (program 1558, 16% of sale). goSlug wired 2026-08-28 (Nidhi-approved); the plain menopause-provider record for Midi (menopause-providers.json) is a separate registry entry and keeps goSlug: null.
#2. Intimate Rose Dihydroberberine Supplement
Dosing frequency is not stated on the product page we captured. Discloses 200mg of dihydroberberine per serving. Cost per serving not computable (servings per container not stated). Testing: Third-party tested (no accreditor named).
Servings per container not populated: capsules-per-serving ratio not confirmed (60 capsules could be 60 or 30 servings) -- not assumed as 1:1. Dosing frequency (times per day) not stated in the captured research. No named certifying body for the third-party testing claim.
#3. SNS (Serious Nutrition Solutions) GlucoVantage XT
Dosing frequency is not stated on the product page we captured. Discloses 100mg of dihydroberberine per serving. Cost per serving not computable (servings per container not stated). No third-party testing claim found.
Servings per container / capsules-per-serving ratio not confirmed -- not assumed as 1:1 with the 90-capsule count. Dosing frequency (times per day) not stated in the captured research. No third-party testing claim of any kind found on the page (thirdPartyTested recorded as null, not false).
#4. Nutricost Dihydroberberine Capsules
Dosing frequency is not stated on the product page we captured. Does not disclose a single per-serving milligram figure. Cost per serving not computable (servings per container not stated). Testing: Third-party tested (no accreditor named).
Per-serving dose not populated: brand sells 100mg and 200mg variants at this listing and the axis-research pass did not confirm which one this row's price/container figures describe. Servings per container not populated: the capsules-per-serving ratio was not captured, so whether 60 capsules is 60 servings or fewer is not confirmed -- not assumed as 1:1. Times-per-day dosing instructions not captured. No named certifying body for the third-party testing claim.
#5. NutraBio Berberine Advanced (200 mg dihydroberberine / GlucoVantage)
Its own product page directs: "take 1 capsule twice daily with a meal." Two times a day, not once. Verified first-party 2026-08-28. Discloses 200mg of dihydroberberine per serving. $0.88 per serving at this product's own stated container size. Testing: Third-party tested (no accreditor named).
Servings/day not confirmed on a first-party page. No accredited certifying body named for the testing claim.
Sold by NutraBio Labs directly on this Amazon listing (first-party seller).
#6. Double Wood Supplements Dihydroberberine
Its own label directs one 100mg capsule with breakfast, lunch and dinner: three times a day, not once. Discloses 100mg of dihydroberberine per serving. $0.38 per serving at this product's own stated container size. Testing: Third-party tested (no accreditor named).
No named certifying body for the third-party testing claim (only a generic CoA reference).
What to look for, and the real cautions
- Confirm the label actually says 'dihydroberberine' or a branded ingredient such as Glucovantage, not plain 'berberine HCl' or 'berberine extract.' These are related but distinct compounds with different absorption, and a page or product mislabeling one as the other misrepresents what's actually in the bottle.
- A stated per-serving milligram amount, confirmed on the product's own page or Supplement Facts label. Some brands, including Midi's, disclose the dose only on a label image in the product-page gallery rather than in page copy; several other brands in this category do not disclose it in either place.
- A named third-party test or Certificate of Analysis, since berberine-family products are a category with documented under-dosing risk industry-wide.
- Because berberine (which DHB converts to) can lower blood glucose and interacts with several medication classes (see interactions below), anyone on a prescription for diabetes, blood pressure, or an organ-transplant anti-rejection drug should talk to a clinician or pharmacist before starting it.
Drug interactions, in full
- diabetes medications (insulin, sulfonylureas, metformin): Berberine (the compound dihydroberberine converts to and from in the body) lowers blood glucose through pharmacodynamic additivity with glucose-lowering drugs; combined use raises the risk of hypoglycemia and warrants blood-sugar monitoring. (source, accessed 2026-08-25)
- cyclosporine and other CYP3A4-metabolized drugs: Berberine both inhibits and induces CYP3A4, the enzyme that metabolizes many prescription drugs; the best-documented clinical case is increased cyclosporine exposure in renal-transplant recipients. (source, accessed 2026-08-25)
No named, first-party-verified clinician quote addressing dihydroberberine specifically was found in our research. We say so plainly rather than borrow a quote about berberine generally and imply it covers this ingredient.
Frequently asked questions
Is dihydroberberine the same thing as berberine?
No, though the two are related. Dihydroberberine (DHB) is a reduced, more bioavailable form of the alkaloid berberine; it converts to berberine in the body and produces measurably higher blood berberine levels than an equivalent dose of standard berberine HCl. Standard berberine is typically dosed three times a day at 500mg; DHB's absorption advantage is the reason products built around it can use a smaller, less frequent dose.
Is dihydroberberine or berberine a GLP-1 medication like Ozempic or Wegovy?
No. Neither dihydroberberine nor standard berberine is a GLP-1 receptor agonist or any other prescription weight-loss medication, regardless of how a product or a headline frames it. If you are comparing supplement options against an actual GLP-1 prescription, see our full GLP-1 program comparison instead.
Has dihydroberberine been shown to lower blood sugar?
Only an absorption advantage over standard berberine is established in the trial evidence we found, not a proven glucose or insulin benefit for dihydroberberine specifically; From a small pharmacokinetic crossover trial (n=5 healthy men, not a clinical-outcome or menopause-population study) comparing single 100mg and 200mg dihydroberberine doses to a 500mg dose of standard berberine. Both DHB doses produced significantly higher plasma berberine concentration than the 500mg berberine dose, but the trial was too short and underpowered to detect any glucose or insulin effect, and it included no women or menopausal participants. CORRECTED 2026-08-27 (midi-label-capture-2026-08-27.md): most commercial DHB products still do not state a per-serving milligram dose in their page copy, but some, including Midi's Berberine+, disclose the dose only on a Supplement Facts label image rather than in page text -- Midi's own label states 250mg dihydroberberine per 2-capsule serving. A brand's own stated dose is still not used as an alternative basis for this doseReference figure regardless of whether it discloses one, since this figure reflects the trial evidence, not a brand's label. Source: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8746601/, accessed 2026-08-25.
Does a higher per-serving dose always mean more dihydroberberine per day?
Not necessarily. This page's #1 pick, Midi Health Berberine+, discloses the highest single-serving dose in this set at 250mg, taken once a day. A product taken multiple times a day at a lower per-serving dose can still deliver more total dihydroberberine across the day; see the per-serving-vs-per-day note above the ranked table.
Alert me when this gets cheaper
These prices move. Get one email when we publish a verified price drop, the programs on this list included. No spam. Unsubscribe any time.
Related
- Which creatine supplement is best for menopause, ranked
- Which menopause supplements are worth buying? (full buying guide)
- Best GLP-1 weight loss programs, compared
This page is educational, not medical advice. Talk with your clinician before starting a new supplement, especially if you take a prescription for diabetes, blood pressure, or an organ-transplant anti-rejection drug.